CQHA Awards

The Canadian Quarter Horse Association (CQHA) Awards and Selections Committee presents an annual slate of awards which are as follows:

  • Canadian AQHA Ranch Horse Breeder of the Year

  • Canadian AQHA Performance Horse Breeder of the Year

  • Canadian AQHA Race  Horse Breeder of the Year

  • Canadian AQHA Trainer of the Year
  • Canadian Bred and / or Owned AQHA Registered Horse of the Year

  • Canadian AQHA Amateur of the Year
  • Canadian AQHA Youth of the Year

  • Canadian Youth Rising Star Award

  • Canadian AQHA Industry Leadership & Development &  Award (The Doris Heintz Award)

The CQHA Awards and Selections committee is made up of CQHA directors from across Canada. Credentials and criteria required in order to be a successful candidate included but are not limited to the following:

  • Nominee must be an AQHA member in good standing for a minimum of 5 years. (This does not apply to the youth awards).
  • Nominee must be a current member of CQHA
  • Nominations for a deceased person will be accepted using their past AQHA membership number.
  • Nominators must be a current member of CQHA
  • Horses must be registered with AQHA and include a copy of their registration papers with their nomination.
  • People awards must be accompanied by two letters of reference with contact information. (email and telephone)
  • Trainer and Breeders of the Year Nominee must be a Canadian resident and have their main operation in Canada.
  • Photos of Nominees must be submitted with the nomination form.
  • Supporting documentation includes but is not limited to: official show/race/ breeding records, client testimonials, biography, list of awards and accomplishments.
Congratulations to our 2023 Award Recipiants
Congratulations to our 2022 Award Recipiants